Geology K-12 Outreach
Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Award
Lesson Plans and Other Resources
Contact Us

2007 Annual Business Meeting

     SCESTA President Alan Weekes opened the meeting by informing the group that Vice-President Peter Walton has left South Carolina and is unable to continue as a SCESTA officer.  Dina Ledford was nominated (and elected) to fill the remaining year of the Vice-President's term (new elections will be held next year, 2008). Secretary/Treasurer Becky Pugh reported a total of $994.47 in our bank account.

         John Wagner presented the South Carolina Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Award for 2007 to Ina Eaton of
Sangaree Middle School in Ladson. Ms. Eaton has taught eighth grade science at Sangaree Middle School since 2004. award In her 31 year career she has taught every grade of science from fifth through eleventh grade, but earth and space science has always been her favorite.  She has been a school leader in introducing technology in the classroom and in modeling ways to actively implement the newest state science standards.  Other teachers use her as a reference point and mentor.  Ms. Eaton continually strives to share her love of science and learning with others, both students and teachers.  She has been one of the leaders for the school 'science night' as well as working with the school science fair and serving as a Quest Coach.  She served on the Berkeley County Science Council and the County Textbook Adoption Committee.  She believes it is extremely important to get parents and the community involved in student learning.

            Outstanding Earth Science Teacher (OEST) awards are given for "exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the Earth Sciences at the pre-college level."  Any teacher or other K-12 educator who covers a significant amount of earth science content with their students is eligible.  Each southeastern state runs its own competition to recognize a state winner.  A committee at the section level reviews the state awardee nomination packets to select a regional winner.  Individuals may submit an application themselves or nominate a colleague for the award.
            Nominations may be submitted at any time during the year, but nominations must be received by May 1, 2008 in order to be considered for the 2008 award cycle.  Nominations received after that date will be held for the 2009 competition.  The official nomination form and supporting materials should be sent to the state OEST coordinator, the sectional OEST coordinator, or to the NAGT Executive Director (see NAGT web site for contact information and copy of nomination form).
            The National Association of Geoscience Teachers gives each section OEST awardee a plaque and a two-year membership in the Association.  State awardees receive a smaller plaque and a one-year membership.  The following organizations provide tangible support of various kinds such as teaching materials or gifts: National Earth Science Teachers Association, American Geological Institute, American Geophysical Union, American Institute of Professional Geologists, and the U.S. Geological Survey.
         State winners also receive special local awards.  In South Carolina, the 2007 winner also received a $100 check from the Mining Association of South Carolina and another $100 check from the Carolinas Section of the Society of Mining Engineers.
         Please nominate yourself or a colleague for the 2008 OEST award.  Send completed nomination form to John Wagner, Dept. Environ. Engr. & Earth Sciences, 340 Brackett Hall, Clemson University, Clemson SC  29634-0919.


         SCESTA wants to give a special note of thanks to the Veronica Matthews Minerals Company (which had a booth in the exhibit hall at SC2) for providing a subawardstantial discount on the petrified wood and gold samples purchased for Ina Eaton, the 2007 OESTwinner, who was recognized at the SCESTA business meeting.  We urge all SCESTA members to patronize this company.  If you would like to send a separate note of thanks to the company, their e-mail address is "Veronica Matthews Minerals" <>.


     The members wanted to once again hold a SCESTA Share-a-Thon at the SC Science Council Convention next year (2008).  If you would like to join us in sharing some of your favorite activities with other teachers please email Alan Weekes.  If you are not able to share, please stop by at our session and pick up some great activities used by your fellow teachers.

     The group discussed holding two one-day field trips at State Parks; Santee State Park on Feb 16, 2008 and Table Rock State Park on a date in April to be determined by the officers.  SCESTA will pay for admission to the parks and (probably) a picnic meal.

     The meeting closed with a distribution of door prizes. A total of 19 people were in attendance at the meeting.

 We need your help!!!

The following was submitted to SCESTA for posting in the newsletter some time ago. Unfortunately, the author is unknown. Please email the webmaster so that we can give credit where credit is due!