Clemson University
Electric Power
Research Association

Power Systems Faculty

The science and engineering disciplines that contribute to the study, design, and operation of the modern power system have diversified dramatically. Clemson University's College of Engineering, Computing, and Applied Sciences (CECAS), specifically the Holcombe Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) employs faculty members in a variety of areas that contribute to power systems topics. Modern power system research incorporates communications, electronics, and intelligent systems areas as well as the more traditional power system analysis, power system protection, and power system transient and dynamic stability studies. Please visit the Research section of the ECE Department page to find faculty members in the various research areas. Each faculty member has his or her own page detailing areas of interest and research work.

Dr. Daniel L. Noneaker
Interim CUEPRA Director
Dept. Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ph.D., 1993 - University of Illinois
Electrical Engineering

Wireless Communications Systems and Networks

Dr. Elham B. Makram
CUEPRA Director - Emeritus
SCE&G Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering - Emeritus

Ph.D., 1981 - Iowa State University
Electrical Engineering

Power System Analysis; Power Quality; Computer Modeling and Simulation of Power Systems, Power System Harmonics

In Memoriam:

Dr. Adly A. Girgis (1945-2010)
CUEPRA Founding Director
Duke Power Distinguished Professor of Power Engineering

Ph.D., 1981 - Iowa State University
Electrical Engineering

Power System Control, Harmonics, Measurements, Protection and Transients; Real Time Computer Application in Power Systems; Signal Processing; and Kalman Filtering Applications in Power Systems.