Manufacturing Lab at CU-ICAR

SmartState Center for Automotive Manufacturing

Informed Control of Manufacturing Processes

Welcome to the research group site of Dr. Laine Mears in Clemson University's Automotive Engineering Department. The group is located at the Clemson University - International Center for Automotive Research (CU-ICAR), a 250-acre academia+industry research campus in Greenville, SC, USA.

The lab’s research covers physical modeling of manufacturing processes, particularly error sources in machining, and application of these models to state estimation and process control. The application area is in the sensing and use of available information in manufacturing processes to improve time and quality consistency, particularly for lightweight and energy-efficient materials used in the automotive industry. The goal is to enable the cost-efficient use of these materials for reduced energy consumption in vehicle service. Models of process physics are developed and incorporated directly to machine control, and alternative processes and control systems are designed, modeled and prototyped.

Prior to coming to Clemson, Dr. Mears worked 7 years for a global bearing manufacturer and 4 years for a Japanese engine and steering parts manufacturer. This industrial experience includes machine, tooling and control system design for high-volume automotive component manufacturing. Specific process experience includes injection molding, cold ring rolling, precision grinding, superfinishing, coil winding, and different types of non-destructive testing process design. Dr. Mears also worked on setup time reduction and process optimization through lean manufacturing analysis. He is a licensed Professional Engineer, an SME Certified Manufacturing Engineer, an ASQ Certified Quality Engineer, and a BMW Lean Six Sigma Black Belt.


Lab Honors and Awards

  • NSF Graduate Research Fellowship, Brandt (2017-2020)
  • Fellow of SME (2017)
  • Fellow of the ASME (2016)
  • BMW SmartState Chaired Professor of Automotive Manufacturing (2016-)
  • Institution of Mechanical Engineers (UK) Thatcher Brothers Prize, awarded for the best paper on a manufacturing industries subject (2016)
  • Clemson University College of Eng. and Science Dean's Professorship (2015-2018)
  • Autodesk® Fusion 360™ student design challenge award (2016)
  • Clemson University R.C. Edwards Fellowship (2015-2017), Brandt
  • US Dept. of Defense / National Center for Defense Manufacturing and Machining MTConnect Challenge Part 2 First Prize (2014), Valerie
  • Clemson College of Engineering and Science Outstanding Young Alumni Award (2014), Mathew
  • Clemson Mechanical Engineering Excellence in Engineering Award, given for the top undergraduate honors research project (2014), Elizabeth
  • Clemson University College of Engineering and Science Graduate Research and Discovery Symposium poster competition second place (2014), Farbod
  • ASME Manufacturing Science and Engineering Conference Best Paper Award, 3rd place (2014), Kavit
  • SAGE Journal of Engineering Manufacture Top 5 Most Downloaded Paper (2013)
  • Institute of Mechanical Engineers (UK) George Stephenson Gold Medal (2013)
  • Clemson College of Engineering and Science McQueen Quattlebaum Faculty Achievement Award for leadership in the engineering profession (2013)
  • SAGE Publishing Best Paper Prize, Journal of Engineering Manufacture (2012)

  • Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) E. Wayne Kay Graduate Scholarship (2011, 2012), Josh, Wes

  • Automotive Engineering Department Outstanding PhD Student (2012), Wes

  • Clemson MSE Department Best Student Presentation Award (2012), Mathew

  • Clemson University Board of Trustees Award for Faculty Excellence (2012)

  • SME Schneider-Bingle Endowed Scholarship (2011), Josh

  • Clemson Distinguished Graduate Student Research Fellowship (2011), Wes

  • Clemson University Board of Trustees Award for Faculty Excellence (2011)

  • NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Honorable Mention (2010, 2011), Wes

  • Society of Automotive Engineers Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award (2011)

  • South Carolina Governor's Young Researcher Award for Excellence in Scientific Research (2011)

  • Clemson College of Engineering and Science Collaboration Award (2010)

  • NSF CAREER Award (2010)

hit counter for tumblr

Updated: August 2017